6 Members of Gilgit-Baltistan Council Disqualified by Election Tribunal

GB Council Members

An election tribunal headed by Justice Mohammad Alam has declared the Gilgit-Baltistan Council elections as “disqualified” and ordered the Election Commission of Gilgit-Baltistan to conduct polling on 6 seats.

GB Council was established according to Article 33 of Gilgit-Baltistan (Empowerment & Self Governance) Order, 2009. Its Chairman is the Prime Minister of Pakistan and Governor Gilgit-Baltistan acts as the Vice-Chairman.

The members of GB Council include Arman Shah, Sultan Ali Khan, Muhammad Ashraf Sada, Wazir Ikhlaq Hussain, Syed Muhammad Abbas and Syed Afzal.

The council was being represented by Captain (retd) Muhammad Safdar, Khalid Hussain Magsi, Dr Darshan, Syed Iftikharul Hassan, Isphanyar M Bhandara and Tariq Fazal Chaudhary. All of the representing members are from federal government.

Report: Nadeem Ahmed

Pictures: Facebook

Gbee Staff
Gbee Staff bring you the latest and trending topics from Gilgit-Baltistan and Chitral. Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter.

Comments 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't have an account?
sign up

reset password

Back to
log in

sign up

Back to
log in
Choose A Format